Parsley & Dill

by Jacqueline Madison

Avocado Ice Cream

 

Some of my friends  came over for a homemade roll-it yourself sushi dinner. We had the sushi grade salmon and tuna from Victoria Market accompanied by the perfectly cut mandolin strips of cucumber and carrots. I was very busy prepping everything that once I was finished I wanted to play around some more. Since, dinner prep was done I could move on to dessert, but what to make?  Japanese restaurants usually provide that tiny bit of sorbet after a filling meal to clean the palate, so I thought maybe my avocado ice cream will do the trick with our homemade sushi? I decided to dust off my hand cranked ice cream machine (that I scored at the op shop for 5 dollars!) and try to use what leftovers I had, added with some pantry necessities. Viola, avocado ice cream! It’s a super simple recipe, but it has a nice delicate flavor. I packed up my kitchen, popped in a movie and started hand churning the ice cream… a very fun day in the kitchen.

Ingredients:

Thickening cream 300 ml

Whole Milk 1 1/2 cups

Sugar 1/2 cup

Lemon Juice, about a quarter of a lemon

Avocados, about 3 large

1. Add everything in a blender and puree until smooth and creamy.

2. Strain through a sieve into a freezable container.

3. Let freeze for at least 25 minutes. For my home churning ice cream maker I wanted to make sure my puree was cold. Otherwise, I would be cranking the thing all day!

4. Run through an ice cream machine or self churning ice cream machine as i did! If you don’t have an ice cream machine on hand, not to worry. Keep the ice cream in the freezer and make sure to stir about every 25 minutes or so.

5. Place back in a container to freeze or enjoy immediately. Garnish with pistachio (optional, but I really enjoyed it.)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 12, 2011 by .
my foodgawker gallery
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

